Giving Thanks

Give your thanks to the autumn season and all the thanksgiving dinners (in Canada). I made thanksgiving dinner not once, but TWICE! Perhaps I watched too much of The Chef Show on Netflix… But it was so great to reconnect with family and friends (while following COVID-19 precautions: limit your social bubble and keep indoor gatherings small) – and for this, I am extremely grateful.

Here are some of the recipes I “followed”. Peep the outcome in the photos above 👀

Stuffing: (10/10) I skipped the eggs but it still came out delicious!

Mashed potatoes: (8/10) I added parsley, dill, and parmesan for more flavour.

Zucchini, eggplant, tomato gratin: (9/10) I thought this dish would be quite bland – plain roasted vegetables – but it actually turned out great!

Italian roasted cauliflower: (11/10) Yummm…Don’t underestimate cauliflower 👅

The COVID-19 pandemic has taken a toll on most people’s mental health, mine included. If anything, thanksgiving has taught me the value of reconnecting with family and friends. If you are ever feeling down, reach out to a friend or family member, whether it is meeting them at a local park (safely) or scheduling a Facetime call. Give thanks to the people who mean the most to you, or make them a wholesome meal to express your gratitude. Just be sure to follow the COVID protocols specific to your location while doing so. Here are the BC guidelines for my BC peeps. Happy Thanksgiving from Canada! 🥳