Feast your eyes

Dim sum has a special place in my heart, especially those from Cantonese dim sum restaurants back in Vancouver. My family is from Shanghai, so our version of dim sum is a little different from popular dim sum foods in North America. My mom hates going to the restaurants because they were so loud. I mean how can they not be? Just imagine waking up on a Saturday morning and grabbing har gow (the best dim sum) with close family and friends. There is a lot of excitement, and I am one for it.

So maybe the fact that I rarely ate dim sum made me love dim sum even more. Being in Kingston sort of sucks for me because dim sum here falls very short compared to the ones back home. That doesn’t stop me from drawing them. If I can’t eat them, at least I can look at them and imagine myself eating it? 🤪

shrimp

These har gow (crystal shrimp dumplings) are my favorite. I don’t even know how they get shrimps that big.

triangle

These chicken or pork sticky rice wrapped in some kind of leaf (so I am not the best at remembering the actual names) was one of my favourite dim sum foods growing up. Even though I don’t eat chicken or pork anymore, they still hold a special place in my heart.

 

Feast your eyes. Googling “dim sum” is another great way to feast your eyes. You might get some serious cravings though. You have been warned! 🤤